Similes Are As Fun As Disneyland

Grade Two has been learning about similes. Similes are comparisons that show how two things that are not alike in most ways are very similar in one way. Authors use similes to make their writing more interesting or entertaining. Similes use the words ‘as’ or ‘like’ to make the connection between two things that are being compared.

We read Quick as a Cricket by Audrey Wood, discussing the similes on each page. “I liked the book because when I heard the sentence ‘I am as quiet as a clam’ I liked it because I like quietness too” said Yeyya. “I liked when he said ‘I’m as quick as a cricket’ because I like running” said Daniel.

After reading this book the students were excited to try writing their own similes and then reading them to the class. Here are some examples of the great writing that was produced.

*The monster’s breath was like burned garlic (Yeyya)    *His hand was as big as an elephant’s foot. (Travis)   *My little brother sounds like a crying pig. (Mira)   *School is like vacation because it is fun. (Tristan)     *The water was as cold as ice cream. (Farah)   *School is like home. (Tanner)     *The car was as dirty as a pig who had just rolled in the mud. (Sara)

2 Responses to Similes Are As Fun As Disneyland

  1. Tariq Ali says:

    I Enjoyed world maths day.

Leave a Reply

